May Music Favourites

May gifted us with so, so many incredible new releases – to name a few, Harry Styles released his admittedly pretty outstanding solo debut album, Paramore returned with their fifth album After Laughter, and HAIM finally gave us some new material and announced their new album Something To Tell You. Getting my May favourites down to just ten songs was more difficult than you’d even imagine, so I’ll probably add a couple more of my favourite tracks from this month to May’s Spotify playlist. Enjoy x

1. Time To Let You Go – Clean Cut Kid

After listening to Clean Cut Kid for well over a year, I’d been looking forward to their debut album for M O N T H S and I was not disappointed. Felt is rife with strong tracks, but Time To Let You Go is the track I’ve enjoyed the most, it’s a bittersweet break up track and I heart it. I’ve unfortunately missed them whenever they’ve been in Edinburgh or Glasgow, but I’ve heard nothing but good things about their live sets so hopefully, I’ll catch them at TRNSMT in July. – twitter: @CleanCutKid insta: @cleancutkidmusic

2. Othr Grls – ST.MARTiiNS

I know I’ve said this before but, I love them I love them I love them. I’ve been called out for being a bit of a ST.MARTiiNS fangirl on Twitter many a time and I have absolutely no shame in it. They make the most beautiful, glistening sounds, and Othr Grls is arguably their strongest track to date. They have a headline gig coming up at King Tut’s next month which I’m PRAYING I will be able to get myself along to, as it’ll probably be my last chance to finally catch them live before I move to Manchester after the summer, but you should probably be there too. – twitter: @stmartiins insta: @stmartiins

3. Strong Swimmer – Vistas

It’s incredible to think that Edinburgh’s own Vistas only released their debut single last year, and they’ve quickly built up an insane following and reputation as one of Scotland’s hottest new bands, but it’s easy to see why. Their gigs are high energy, sweaty, and the most fun you’ll ever have, and they’re yet to actually release a track that’s anything short of sensational, Strong Swimmer is proof of that. Earlier this month they supported The View at Glasgow’s iconic Barrowlands, and they’re set to support Clean Cut Kid at King Tut’s *TONIGHT*. They’re also making an appearance at Glasgow’s TRNSMT Festival in July, a set that I’m incredibly excited for. – twitter: @vistasmusic insta: @vistasmusic

4. Born To Lose – Ten Tonnes

Ethan Barnett aka Ten Tonnes is a blog favourite, and I couldn’t be more excited for the release of his debut album in just over a week. Track Born To Lose is about “being down your luck,” says Barnett, “never being able to get the upper hand over somebody, no matter how much you want to. I’m really pleased with it,” and it’s clear to see why. He has a couple of festival appearances coming up over the summer and you’d be a fool to miss him. Also go buy his album next week xxx – twitter: @ten_tonnes insta: @ten_tonnes

IMG_6087

5. Each Time You Fall In Love – Cigarettes After Sex

Ambient pop group Cigarettes After Sex released their latest single Each Time You Fall In Love earlier this month from their self-titled debut album set for release next week. Their sultry, elusive cocktail of dreamy melodies and heartbreaking lyrics remains, and they’re genuinely the most stunning live band I have ever seen. They’re enchanting. Lead singer Greg Gonzalez told Billboard that Each Time You Fall In Love is mostly about how he was never completely satisfied by any relationship he’s had. “It was as if I was always on the lookout for something more,” he says, “and it had gotten me into plenty of trouble over time.” Cigarettes After Sex kicked off their world tour a few weeks ago, and it continues right on through until December. Ya girl will be at their Manchester date at the O2 Ritz in November. A lot of these dates are understandably sold out or incredibly close to selling out, so if you want to see them then grab a ticket asap. After seeing them live three times now I can promise you that their live shows are nothing short of magical. – twitter:@CigsAfterSexx insta: @cigsaftersex

6. Tear Drops in a Hurricane – Jordan Mackampa

Jordan’s latest EP Tales From The Broken was released earlier this month and I can confirm that it is, like him, wonderful. I first caught Jordan when he supported Lewis Watson at the Electric Circus back in December and I am now very grateful to consider him a friend. I went to see him last night at Sneaky Pete’s and he treated us to a truly sensational set. Jordan is a wonderful artist and the nicest person you will ever meet, and I just know big things are coming his way. He’s only got a few dates left on his tour so please DO get along to one if you can. – twitter: @JordanMackampa insta: @jordanmackampa

IMG_6525

7. May I Have This Dance – Francis and the Lights ft Chance the Rapper

Francis and the Lights’ debut album Farewell, Starlite! was one of my favourite albums of last year, with May I Have This Dance being one of my favourite tracks too. I didn’t think I could love it any more, that was of course until he released it as a single earlier this month with a feature from Chance the Rapper. Chance raps about his daughter Kensli, and it’s sentimental and catchy as hell. The video is a work of art too, serving as a sequel to his 2016 video Friends featuring Bon Iver and Kanye West. – twitter: @andthelights insta: @francisandthelights

8. Animals – Tamu Massif

Bristol based artist Dave Dixon, aka Tamu Massif, released his second EP Bala earlier this month, and it’s brilliant. I caught Tamu Massif when he supported The Japanese House at the Liquid Rooms a few weeks ago and whilst it admittedly took a while for me to *get* him, I was captivated by the talent he quite clearly has. He explained in a press release that he approaches writing songs as collages, “I usually layer up different sections and then connect them. On Bala sampling my own voice became integral to the songwriting process and I started recording tracks purely to lay down vocals I could manipulate elsewhere”. – twitter: @tmassif insta: @tamumassif

9. Glad It’s Raining – James Vincent McMorrow

The new album True Care from Irish singer-songwriter James Vincent McMorrow seemed to just appear out of nowhere, it was announced and released all within the space of a week. Whilst the album is full of many stand out tracks (Constellations, Change of Heart, and Pink Salt Lake to name a few), it is Glad It’s Raining that I have found myself listening to the most. I’ve been a fan of James for a good few years now, and he’s incredibly versatile as an artist, which is refreshing. You can pre-order the CD and Vinyl here, but it is available to stream in all the usual places in the meantime- twitter: @jamesvmcmorrow insta: @jamesvmcmorrow

10. Want You Back – HAIM

Whilst I’m not the biggest HAIM fan in the world, they do have a fair few songs that I do really really enjoy, so this first single Want You Back from their new album Something To Tell You, set for release on the 7th of July, perfectly encapsulates how HAIM fans (and admittedly myself more recently) have felt over the last four years since debut Days Gone By – it’s g r e a t to have them back. Want You Back provides a taster of what to expect from the new album and if it’s anything like this track I’m sure we won’t be disappointed. – twitter: @HAIMtheband insta: @haimtheband

Leave a Reply

